Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The EYFS has seven, inter-connected areas of learning and development. Three prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These prime areas are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (making relationships, self-confidence and self-awareness, managing feelings and behaviour)
  • Physical Development (moving and handling, health and self-care)
  • Communication and Language (listening and attention, understanding and speaking)

The additional four specific areas are:

  • Literacy (reading and writing)
  • Mathematics (numbers, shape and measure)
  • Understanding the World (people and communities, the world, technology)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (exploring and using media and materials, being imaginative)

The EYFS recognises three main areas that encompass the characteristics of effective learning. These are:

  • Playing and Exploring (engagement) - children finding out and exploring, playing with what they know and being willing to “have a go”.
  • Active learning (motivation) - children being involved and concentrating, keeping trying and enjoying achieving what they set out to do.
  • Creating and thinking critically (thinking) - children having their own ideas, making links and choosing ways to do things.

The School strives to embrace these characteristics by reflective planning of both the indoor and outdoor provision. We place great importance on taking into account the children’s own views and interests to ensure that their learning and development opportunities at school are always meaningful and fun.

The Rowans School, 19 Drax Avenue, Wimbledon, London SW20 0EG
020 8946 8220 | office@rowans.org.uk
Reg. Charity No. 277324


Search form